Toll Free: (866) 758-7670

SJU Navigation

Homeland Security Certificate Curriculum

The post master's certificate program is made up of six courses that cover the fundamentals of homeland security issues and procedures, including the detection and analysis of illegal financial transactions; an overview of terrorism and its historical, political and religious underpinnings; risk assessment; and the responsibilities and roles of the various government agencies involved in homeland security initiatives and programs.

Students can receive their MS in Criminal Justice by completing just 12 more credits.

Specialization Courses

  • CRJ 641 Homeland Security
  • CRJ 645 Sociology of Disasters
  • CRJ 640 Terrorism: Threats and Strategies
  • CRJ 646 Risk Assessment

Elective Courses (3 credits; select one)

  • CRJ 637 Forensic Financial Analysis
  • CRJ 607 Multiculturalism and Diversity in Criminal Justice

Students can select any electives to satisfy the program, but those noted above are suggested.

To learn more about the online Homeland Security Certificate program from Saint Joseph’s University and what it can do for your career, call (866) 758-7670 to speak with an admissions representative right away or request more information.